By | January 13, 2008
Spread the love

Dear Governor Schwarzenegger –

As an American, I was taught that the freedom to express ones beliefs is fundamental to our society. But I was also taught that expression brings responsibility, and abuse brings consequences. Abraham Lincoln summed this up when he said “Those who deny freedom deserve it not for themselves.” This weekend, we got a real-life demonstration of what happens when people believe in denying freedom to others.

Episcopal Bishop John-David Schofield of San believes that gay people should be banned from performing sermons, confirmations and rites. He recently led his diocese away from the national church on this issue, to ally with an Anglican church based in Buenos Aires.

The Episcopal Church responded by, appropriately, banning him from performing sermons, confirmations and rites.

I wish you would stand up for freedom, Governor, by identifying the Republicans who want to block lesbian and gay couples from marriage, and proclaim that their marriages are annulled. It would be no more arbitrary than annulling my marriage, which you did in 2004, and certainly teach a better lesson about commitment than banning committed relationships.

As Lincoln realized, the consequence of “doing unto others” is to be “done unto.” Won’t you see to it that justice is done?


ATTACHMENT: Public Officials who have endorsed a ban on my marriage

Public Officials to be Banned from Marriage

State Senators
Senator Dick Ackerman (R-Tustin) –
Senator Sam Aanestad (R-Redding) –
Senator Roy Ashburn (R-Bakersfield ) –
Senator James Battin, Jr. (R-La Quinta) –
Senator John Campbell (R-Irvine) –
Senator Dave Cox (R-Fair Oaks) –
Senator Jeff Denham (R-Merced) –
Senator Bob Dutton (R-San Bernadino) –
Senator Dennis Hollingsworth (R- El Cajon) –
Senator Abel Maldonado (R-Santa Maria) –
Senator Bob Margett (R-Arcadia) –
Senator Tom McClintock (R-Thousand Oaks) –
Senator Bill Morrow (R-Oceanside) –
Senator Charles Poochigian (R-Fresno) –
Senator George Runner (R-Antelope Valley) –
Senator Mark Wyland (R-Carlsbad) –

Assembly Members
Assemblyman Greg Aghzarian (R-Stockton) –
Assemblyman John Benoit (R-Palm Desert) –
Assemblyman Russ Bogh (R-Yucaipa) –
Assemblyman Dave Cogdill (R-Modesto) –
Assemblyman Chuck Devore (R-Irvine) –
Assemblyman Bill Emmerson (R-Redlands) –
Assemblyman Tom Harman (R-Huntington Beach) –
Assemblyman Guy Houston (R-San Ramon) –
Assemblyman Bob Huff (R-Diamond Bar) –
Assemblyman Rick Keene (R-Chico) –
Assemblyman Doug LaMalfa (R-Biggs) –
Assemblyman Jay LaSuer (R-LaMesa) –
Assemblyman Bill Maze (R-Visalia) –
Assemblyman Dennis Mountjoy (R-Monrovia) –
Assemblyman Alan Nakanishi (R-Lodi) –
Assemblyman Roger Niello (R-Sacramento) –
Assemblyman George Plescia (R-San Diego) –
Assemblywoman Sharon Runner (R-Lancaster) –
Assemblywoman Audra Strickland (R-Camarillo) –
Assemblyman Van Tran (R-Costa Mesa) –
Assemblyman Michael Villines (R-Clovis) –
Assemblywoman Mimi Walters (R-Laguna Niguel) –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *